Found yet another scammer on BestJobs today. I was graced this morning with this email from Rebels Personnel. Here is the email:
A very good day to you Stii Pretorius,
We have received your response to our advertisement, but now need you to please forward the following documents to us, via fax: 0866523502
ID document
CV
Reference letters (if you have)
Certificates (if applicable)Please try your best to forward these documents to our fax number as soon as possible.
We cannot process your application without these documents.Kind Regards
Liane
Pre-Screening
Recruitment Dept.
Rebels Personnel
As with Aggies Recruitment Services, it is sent from a domain called rebels.com which is co-incidentally the same name as the supposedly recruiter Rebels Personnel. If you visit rebels.com, you get to exactly the same free email account service as if you would visit aggies.com.
I’ve sent my post yesterday to Bestjobs, and to date heard nothing from them.
Welcome back! You should subscribe to my RSS feed here.
You should follow me on Twitter here
You should follow me on Gatorpeeps here.







Yolani 1:06 pm on May 13, 2009 Permalink |
This happened to me today. Fortunately I found your website so they only have my CV (including ID number) with links to LinkdIn and MyGenius, with limited info. Changed my CV for future use so that it does not contain my physical address or ID
Fiks 11:29 am on May 27, 2009 Permalink |
I have received an e-mail from rebels personnel asking me to send ID etc. Are they a scam.
Fiks.
Lee 10:12 pm on June 1, 2009 Permalink |
Well I have just been caught on the very scam mentioned above. I am so desparate for work and although i know not to leave my ID number on my cv,I was under the inpression that it all looked legit on the reply mail. Now these sleeze balls have my id and copy of certificates. What should i do. report it to the police station and open a case to protect myself. And against what. Oh deary me. I am battling so much already to feed my kids. I hope and prey they don’t like my name.
Mxolisi 11:37 am on June 8, 2009 Permalink |
I have already fax all my details to these people,so any help?
mamoremi 12:15 pm on June 22, 2009 Permalink |
My sister in – law received job mails, she is already faxed copies of cerificates,id,diploma,letter. to Rebels Peasonnel and Deacon Direct and Mustangs. what should she do know.please help.his mail is magalane2@webmail.co.za.
viccy 10:15 am on June 24, 2009 Permalink |
hy i gave this peole my details already what must i do?
Yvonne 9:43 am on July 3, 2009 Permalink |
goog morning,
I also sent my Cv & documents and also my friend’s so what will happen now because these people knows everything about us now and will commit fraud with our paticulars.
Please help, let me know what to do next please.
Pamela 3:31 pm on July 14, 2009 Permalink |
I just send my details to five of these scammers just seconds before I read the warning – what should I do
Terry 9:22 am on July 21, 2009 Permalink |
As mentioned by comment number 1. I to applied for a position on IOL yesterday at around 15h00. I immediately got the same reply from “Liane”
Luckly I am aware of the scams going on and thought it strange that their client wanted to meet me within 10 minutes of sending my mail no personnel agency is that fast. So beware they are on IOL as well.
Thank you for this you sure confirmed my suspitions.
Lin Grotsius 8:02 pm on July 29, 2009 Permalink |
As all the above have I been scamed by the same people. I only realised after I sent my CV with all my details to 1 fax number. I went to the Wierda Bridge Police station and reported the scam. Copies will also be distributed by the police to other police stations.
Manto 3:01 pm on July 31, 2009 Permalink |
I ‘m not sending my details to people I know nothing about, no cv, no id
Zulpha 7:08 pm on August 3, 2009 Permalink |
Oh my Word!!
I have just received these same emails yesterday.
I have been jobsearching on gumtree & I guess its really difficult to tell which replies are genuine and which are a scam!
What do I do now??????
I have alredy faxed my CV & info!!!!
Violet 2:09 pm on August 4, 2009 Permalink |
Hi
I’ve already send my things,what must I do.Please help on annachuene@yahoo.com
Violet 2:27 pm on August 4, 2009 Permalink |
Hi
I’ve already send my documents.What must i do please help.
annachuene@yahoo.com
Job seeker 12:12 pm on August 6, 2009 Permalink |
to all job seekers,
please check out the company or recruitment agency before sending CV’s and ID documentation. If they are ligit they should have a website with physical address you can visit including a landline.
i know it’s tough out there, but dont fall into these scammers traps.
good luck!
HJ 10:41 am on August 19, 2009 Permalink |
I also fell in the same trap by sending all information to 5 (Mustang, Deacons, Aggies, Rebels and “Recruitment department”. Please let met know what to do at erina@ktc.bfnmcc.co.za Thanks
Kerry 4:49 pm on August 24, 2009 Permalink |
Hi guys,
Just got the email too. This time it was advertised on bestjobs as a company called Cougars recruitment. Luckily I googled them first and stumbled on this website. Thankfully no personal address or ID details are on my CV. Keep that info safe.
Kris 1:40 pm on August 28, 2009 Permalink |
Flip it hey…… I had four (4) emails from these bastards this morning. Luckily I had an interview somewhere else so only got back this afternoon. Thought I’d google the company before I fax my stuff (thought it was odd that there was no contact number).
Here are the company’s so far:
hr@rebels.com (got two from them so far today)
vacancy@mustangs.com
personnel@deacons.com
hrrecruiting@aggies.com
To check if the company is legit, google them or just reply…. I wanted to email my stuff rather than send it to a fax-to-email number.
Viv 7:02 pm on September 4, 2009 Permalink |
Got the same 2 from five companies.
However, my faxes did not go through as per the report.
natasha 11:46 am on September 15, 2009 Permalink |
same happened with me this morning, applied for jobs and got these same emails aassshhoollleeesss
Tia 8:09 am on September 18, 2009 Permalink |
Wow, I’m glad I googled the company 1st, befor I sent through my particulars. have any of you tried calling them.
tsakee 5:53 am on September 25, 2009 Permalink |
wow, saw this email too but it felt wrong so i googled rebels and here i am. cant believe this ppl. nxa
tsakee 5:57 am on September 25, 2009 Permalink |
lol natasha, no i never called Tia. i had mustandgs too. and lucky star. one must just ditch best jobs….oh how i love pnet.
buyekezwa 2:30 pm on October 1, 2009 Permalink |
yo almost faxed my papers lucky the fax wasnt working. was suprised to get these messages from these guys but since i m desparate for a job almost faxed to them.
Shiehaam 3:12 pm on October 5, 2009 Permalink |
I just rec 4 e-mails for aggies recruiting and rebels personnel. i did not even apply for any jobs that they are talking about, luck for me i check them out, another scam. how can people do this, are they heartless bastards
Lynn 9:58 am on October 8, 2009 Permalink |
Here are the company’s so far:
hr@rebels.com (got two from them so far today)
vacancy@mustangs.com
personnel@deacons.com
hrrecruiting@aggies.com
check if the company is legit, google them or just reply…. email your stuff rather than send it to a fax-to-email number.
Please becareful out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rob 11:08 am on October 14, 2009 Permalink |
Same happened to me. I applied for a position as an accounts manager and 6 companies replied (see list below). I found this a bit odd, as I sent my CV by e-mail to only one company (applications@national-champs.com). Fortunately my CV does not have my ID number on it.
These are the companies that responded….
1) jobnetresponse@gmail.com
2) directjobresponse@gmail.com
3) hr@rebels.com (Liane)
4) personnel@deacons.com
5) vacancy@mustangs.com
6) hrrecruiting@aggies.com (Lucinda)
All have the same format, asking for CV, photo, references, etc.
Thanks guys for this site. If I hadn’t looked up the relevant companies website, I could have been conned.
Erica Pereira 11:57 am on November 4, 2009 Permalink |
I cant believe this….People pray on the desperate…..Ive just been retrenched and job seeking has been my priority! Damn u people to hell!!! What can we do? To hell with Bestjobs!!!!
Tlangy 11:23 am on November 23, 2009 Permalink |
is this for real, im about to sens my documents, tell me the story
sameera 1:59 pm on December 4, 2009 Permalink |
gosh man…I thought these were scams but willing to take the chance,some of us are so desperate and then you get people like this! damn SICK!!!
MM 9:08 am on December 7, 2009 Permalink |
ALMOST sent!!! thanks for warning
sbuda 1:05 pm on February 12, 2010 Permalink |
most of the jobs on best jobs you only get fax no &email no cantact no
tebza 8:30 am on March 25, 2010 Permalink |
lucky me i didnt send my documenst to this scams, i also recieved 4 emails but had them marked not read so that i can scan all my info and send them. i think its best to check the domain name before you respond to any replys….
Foza Ntsi 3:24 pm on April 22, 2010 Permalink |
I think the Agent nid 2 col u if u applied 4 a job rather than sending u an email, another thing if u look der r no number phones 4 u to col dem bek. hw will u make a folloew up